Crafts

Coffee Tin to Storage Bin

I am a huge fan of my Keurig but after many years of feeling wasteful with every k-cup I threw in the trash, I decided to start buying ground coffee and using it in my reusable k-cup. I am feeling way less wasteful and to my surprise my coffee is way more delicious and costs less money too! 

However, through this process I have accumulated a lot of coffee tins. So in the spirit of “reduce, reduce, recycle”, I decided to repurpose them and use them as storage bins (sometimes my 2 year old turns them into drums too – added bonus!). You can never have too much storage (especially when you have kids) and these tins are large and study. For this project I used:

  • A large coffee tin
  • Decorative duct tape – $5
  • A steady hand

    Step 1 – Clean the inside of the tin with soap and water. Dry.

    Step 2 – Wrap the tin with decorative duct tape. You can pick up duct tape with fun patterns at any department store or home improvement store. I found this fun “paint splatter” pattern at Canadian Tire. Start wrapping the tin at the top lip. Cut the tape when you are done and move onto the next row.

    Step 3 – Repeat until it is covered and Voila! Continue wrapping the tin with the tape until it is completely covered. You may need to cut the tape to fit once you reach your last row.

    I haven’t decided what to use it for yet (art supplies, toy cars, chalk, nail polish) but I know it will be great. I have to say I’m now slightly obsessed with tin can crafts! Try it – you won’t regret it.

    Leave a Reply

    