kids

A Cute and Cozy Reading Nook

Hey penny pinners! I hope you are enjoying your summer as much as I am! I know I haven’t posted in a long time, but it seems like we are always on the go enjoying this weather as much as possible. I haven’t done many projects lately but I did begin to “awesomify” my kids playroom (which happens to be our whole basement – lucky them!).

I wanted to add a reading nook to the space so off I went to Pinterest for some inspiration. Unfortunately it left me feeling like I was going to have to spend $500 to build the perfect, elegant tee-pee with all the bells and whistles – Sorry Pinterest, not my style. I am still on maternity leave so I was hoping to spend $10 or less (which you will be happy to know I did indeed do!). So instead,  I rummaged through my stash of goodies that I have packed away for a rainy day. For this project I used:

  • Ikea Mysig (pre-loved) Bed Canopy
  • 2 panels of random sheer curtains
  • Large safety pins
  • Battery operated mini lights
  • Optional: sewing machine and thread to shorten the curtain panels
  • Word bubble wall decals, $4
  • Pillows
  • Fold-able mattress
  • Crib sheet
  • Books and basket

Step 1 – Hang the bed canopy

I had previously bought an Ikea Mysig bed canopy for $5 off Kijiji that I thought would be a great start. I hung it all the way to the roof using a simple hook that screws into the wall. And voila – a nook is born!

Step 2 – Add curtains to the canopy

I wanted the nook to be cozy so I added some sides to it using leftover sheer curtains my sister had. I chose to go the “no-sew” route by attaching them using large safety pins. It’s actually really sturdy (my son has been tugging at them for a while now and they haven’t popped out – I hope they last, but I go in there all the time to make sure none have fallen off). I decided to shorten the curtains because there was just too much excess at the bottom.

Step 3 – Add lights!

I had some battery operated mini lights that I used on a Christmas wreath which just happened to be the perfect length to go around the rim of the bed canopy. I used mini decorative clothespins to attach them. I also just taped the battery pack to the wall under the backside of the canopy so it wasn’t visible (and so the kids wouldn’t get any bright ideas) using heavy duty packing tape.

We pretend they are stars!
Sophisticated child proofing!

Step 4 – Add some wall decor, cushions and some books! 

I wanted something cute on the wall but didn’t want pictures to fall on their heads so I decided on wall stickers. I stumbled upon some awesome word bubbles at Bouclair that were on clearance for $4!!! My heart skipped a beat when I saw them and I knew they would be perfect! I also wanted to make sure the kids bums were comfy so I used a fold-able mattress we had purchased for my son when he was getting used to his big boy bed (we would put it beside his bed so it would catch him if he fell off). One of the panels came off which actually made it the perfect size for the nook! I covered it in a crib sheet so It wouldn’t get dirty in case of snack spills and it fit perfectly. I added 3 throw cushions I had on hand and leaned them against the wall so they could act as a backrest. To finish it off, I filled a basket full of books for my kids to explore.

These decals made it a next level nook!
Brown mattress was not cutting it.
Ahhh – much better!
Added throw pillows.
The finished nook look!

I have to tell you this was one of the most satisfying projects (My favourite projects these days are the ones I do for my kids though)! I did it during a naptime so I surprised my son when he woke up and he loved it. He goes in there to read, eat snacks, and have a pretend picnic or nap. Overall I just think its a really fun space for him (and his sister and friends) to get creative and use their imagination. Definitely a must have in your playroom! Overall I spent $4 on this project when I splurged on the wall decals! Everything else I already had on hand. It just goes to show you don’t have to spend a lot to make awesome things. Take that Pinterest!

Leave a comment